Outboard motor won't lift up for transport. How do I get it to stay up?

Old 07-23-05, 08:09 PM
erelanel
Visiting Guest
Question Outboard motor won't lift up for transport. How do I get it to stay up?

Hello everyone! I am new to boating...a friend gave me a boat, a 1968 Thunderbird cathedral hull with a Evinrude 140 outboard. We got it on the trailer yesterday and today I went to bring it home. Unfortunately, the engine was left down and the rudder is hitting the ground when I try to drive it. we hooked a battery up to the boat and tried to get the thing to move, but it didn't do anything. Is there a way to get it to the transporting position manually? I didn't see any pins holding it down, but I did see the shocks for it. I might be able to get the nuts off of them, but I don't know if that will work. I even tried to take off the rudder, but I could'nt get all the nuts off of it. HELP!! I don't know what I am doing, but I am learning, and am very interested in getting started in this boating thing. Thanks in advance.
Eric

Old 07-24-05, 01:11 AM
P
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I've never been around a 140 that is that old. But, one thing you might look for is a valve to bypass the hydraullics. Look for a funny shaped slotted screw head on the side of the transom bracket (the bracket that bolts the motor to the boat). If it is there, you can unscrew it a ways; this opens the valve. Then lift the motor manually (it'll be heavy!!).

This is only a guess. I haven't been around boats for 10 years.

Old 07-24-05, 09:02 PM
P
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
What year motor? If the TNT is located between the clamp brackets then there is a manual release valve, probably on the stbd bracket.

Old 07-24-05, 09:50 PM
erelanel
Visiting Guest
Thanks

Thanks for the input guys! I will look and see tomorrow...

Old 07-25-05, 08:04 PM
erelanel
Visiting Guest