Recommended makes? (18-19' fiberglass runabout)

Old 08-14-06, 01:24 PM
Recommended makes? (18-19' fiberglass runabout)

Can I ask this question on this forum? Don't want to start a flame war. Any advice on recommended makes for a 18-19' fiberglass runabout, with inboard/outboard, for cruising and skiing on a medium-size lake?

I have owned a Sea Ray and a Thompson in the past. Thompson seemed heavy and too tall (freeboard), I guess it is really a Great Lakes boat. Sea Ray was nice, but time to replace it.

I get the sense that Sea Ray is considered good quality ... Bayliner is perhaps "cost conscious" shall we say? Where do the following fit in: Larsen, Four Winns, Cobalt, Maxum, Mariah? Other major names in this category?

I'm not suggesting that anyone builds a bad boat! But I'd like to have the general lay of things before I start looking. I'm no expert and can't expect to tell the difference in quality by looking at all the various boats in the showroom -- and I really don't want to spent a huge amount of time evaluating 10-12 different brands, if I can narrow it down to 2 or 3 to start. Let's say "Sea Ray or equivalent" quality ...

Any advice?

Mikaman

Sponsored Links
Old 08-14-06, 05:11 PM
Cool boat

i can tell you the boat market is real tight now all are trying to get
market share you named the company that i work for. we try to give the customer wants. we build boats from 17' to 42'. every manufactuer builds what they see as what the customer wants.
how much you plan on useing the boat will tell how much to spend on it the more that your on it you want some extra goodies or nesities that you will want (head, sink, ect). i will tell you the people that buy 42' boats are a snob they are real pickie about every thing
with the fuel price the way they are you should be able to name your price
you are correct bayliner near low end and sea ray, cobalt, four winns near the upper end

Old 08-21-06, 06:19 PM
Pwrbait
Visiting Guest