Johnson 9.9 Lower unit seized?

Old 05-15-07, 04:08 PM
Unhappy Johnson 9.9 Lower unit seized?

First of all, this is the first boat/motor I have owned, so I'm new to this.

I pulled out my outboard from the basement a few days ago to make sure all is ready for the spring. I got her going with a half dozen pulls and was making a funny noise, maybe like a metal to metal sound - very faint. Don't ask me why, like I said I'm new to this, but I put it into forward and the motor just died. I tried to put it back into neutral, but it wouldn't budge, couldn't pull the ripcord either. Prop doesn't turn at all either.

I talked to a buddy at work and he told me to check the lower unit plugs/oil. I checked it and saw that the bottom plug was not even there. The washer/gasket was still in position, but the screw was gone. I took the top screw out(slot head) and it fits the bottom hole, so I'm sure it's the bottom plug that's missing. There is another screw beside the empty hole however, but I don't know what it's for, it has a long(.5") smooth end to it(philips head).

Does anyone have any ideas as to what I could do. I have gotten a new plug(with magnetic tip) and some advice from a local marina. Fill the lower unit back up with oil, put the new plug back in and hope for the best. That doesn't sound to encouraging.

Is my outboard done for?

Thanks,

Jay

Sponsored Links
Old 05-15-07, 06:58 PM
not too good

if you can gently pry the prop back and forth it should come free if nothing happens you are going to have to get the lower unit rebuilt but make sure you have good oil pumped into the lower hole with the top hole open so it can breath

Old 05-17-07, 12:47 PM
Thanks Benjamz,