Transom saver & other ?'s

Old 07-14-07, 10:19 AM
Smile Transom saver & other ?'s

Hello! Newbie here so many questions. I traded an old pontoon boat for a 1985 18 ft Bayliner Capri bowrider 185/1850? w/125 Force outboard. When trailering should I have the motor tilted down? It has a CMC PT 130 power TNT. It seems to be putting a lot of stress on the transom. I read some where that one could use a 2 X 10 board and tilt the motor down to tighten it up. What about those rubber wedges? I would need something the would go against the transom itself because no bar on trailer if I need any thing at all. I am afraid that the motor and tilt might just break off one day while driving down the road because the fiberglass isn't that great with cracks in other places. The weight of it all seems to be causing some gapping between TNT bracket and transom. Also does anyone know if this model came with a bimini? Any recommendations on economical tops? Also any info on a book or site that talks about redoing the deck? As of right now it is like walking on a sponge but, it will get me by this season. Also, is the use of a hydrofoil/Stingray recommended? Any ideas on an easy way to make some cover supports to keep the rain from puddling? I am using poles right now with limited success. I know this is a lot, so thanks in advance!

Sponsored Links
Old 07-14-07, 01:43 PM
For starters - your outboard should be either in the down position if road clearance allows while trailering - or held in the up position to relieve the stress on the tilt mechanism. Using a 2X10 can get you some angle to raise the unit - but beware - when the engine bounces while towing (and it will), that piece of 2X10 can fall - creating a serious hazard for following motorists. There is nothing that says you can't rig up something - just try to make sure it will remain securely in place.