Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Motor Type

CA

10-20-07, 10:53 AM   #1  
Motor Type

Hello fellow boaters. I'm new at boating. I bought a 1973
23ft reinell with two volvo penta 4cylinder engines. My friend needed cash and sold the boat to me for $400. The boat is in seaworthy shape. One engine runs great, the other is in need of a rebuild. I did not see many threads on this site so I need to ask,,, 1. Can somebody please tell me what type of engines I have? Is it called "sterndrive"?, inboard/outboard? or just inboard? I'm trying to find a repair manuel, but when they ask what type of engine, I don't know what to answer. It has the two engines in the rear of the boat. I start the engines inside the cabin at the middle of the boat. I sleep (if I choose to) inside the front of the boat. I've learned that boats are a combination of equipment. Kinda like a Friekenstien monster. I have a "Reinell" boat with a "Volvo-Penta" engine with a
"Chrysler/Marine" outboard. I think I've read through the net that these engines are actually 1968? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Sponsored Links

10-21-07, 09:37 AM   #2  
The term for your propulsion is either stern drive
or inboard / outboard. Volvo Penta manufactured the
engine and drive unit. I am not sure why the early ones
had the Chrysler decal on them but the parts are
available from a volvo dealer and some aftermarket
parts are still produced too. With a little more info
we may be able to get your model. Probably a 130/250.
There are some time sensitive rubber parts at the back of the
boat you should look at or replace before launching her.
The Universal joint bellows hoses protect the U joints
and support bearing from the sea. If aged or torn
they can allow water to enter the boat.
Congratulations on your purchase. scott

CA

10-21-07, 05:08 PM   #3