Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

boat floor wood

OH

04-30-09, 01:44 PM   #1  
boat floor wood

I have a fish and ski boat and the back bench seat folds down even with the rear deck, one of the seat backs wod is rotten and i want to replace the wood and repair the seat back.

can i use any same thickness wood as long as i paint it or seal it against water or do i have to use marine grade plywood like was in it.

I went to lowes and i ddin't see marine grade wood but i did see outdoor plywood, is that the same thing ?

Sponsored Links

CT

04-30-09, 05:39 PM   #2  
I am no expert, lets start there.

Thinking about this, I would assume that outdoor plywood is designed to handle rain, the typical morning mildew, and snow.

If your boat is in the water all of the time, like sitting at a dock, I would think there is more consistent exposure to moisture and outdoor plywood might not be the way to go if you are looking for a long term solution.

However, sealing the wood with paint and what not would probably give you a few years and its cheap enough you can always repair it again.

If it were me, I wood (pun) continue to search for that marine wood you are talking about

so here are a few links ive found for you:
Boat building lumber and plywood

Good luck
-joel

Last edited by Rick Johnston; 05-01-09 at 04:09 AM. Reason: Sorry - Links to other forums are not allowed.

NY

05-01-09, 04:08 AM   #3  
CDX exterior plywood (the kind you find at the big box stores) is made with glue that's not water soluble, but it's still wood. It's designed to be protected by roofing shingles or an exterior coating, and it's never used where it's exposed to standing water.