Merc 7.4 MPI engine runs rough

Old 05-11-09, 03:27 PM
Merc 7.4 MPI engine runs rough

I have a 1998 Formula with a Mercruiser 7.4 MPI engine and a bravo 3 outdrive (697 hrs). My problem is that it hasn't been maintained well in the last 3 years. The boat has old gas in it and runs rough. When I took it out and ran it, the alarm went off and I had no oil pressure. In the shop they were able to start it and it ran but ran rough. When they removed the value covers they found goo that you could scrap up on your finger. My question is, can I use something like kemtool to clean out the goo and do 5 or 6 oil changes to clean this out? They advised trading up to a new boat. I need help as I'm not a mechanic and don't have a lot of money.

I had them clean out the goo and I have the boat back. It runs great at high speeds but at 10000 rpm, it runs very rough cycling the engine from 9000 to 13000 rpms. Would bad gas make it run so rough at low rpms but not affect it at high rpms?

Sponsored Links
Old 05-11-09, 07:35 PM
Of corse the salesmen want you to buy a new boat.

Old fuel is bad stuff that can cause odd problems. Do you know how much fuel you have in it?

Does your fuel have ethonol in it. If it does change your fuel filter. The ethonal attracts water so if your fuel is 10% like ours it can turn to 10% water in your tank.

When was the last time you changed your distributer cap and rotor.

Old 05-12-09, 04:47 AM
Welcome to the forums.

Three-year-old gasoline is probably the cause of a lot of your problems. Especially in Florida, because gas goes bad faster in higher temperatures. Up north we use stabilizer for the six months of the year that the boats sit in drydock, but the cold winters slow the process. You really should drain the old gas out of the tank.