Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Is there a reason why I have no ground wire to my aluminum hull?


HotRod53F100's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 551
PA

06-17-10, 05:55 PM   #1  
Is there a reason why I have no ground wire to my aluminum hull?

Everything in my boat has 2 wires and the grounds all connect together in the back. As an Electronics guy, I find it odd that there are no grounds connected to the aluminum hull. Is it just my boat or is there a reason for this? Sure would make it easier to add low powered stuff if I could connect to a common ground near the device.

 
Sponsored Links
samuari's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 541
MN

06-17-10, 10:26 PM   #2  
Your hull will corrode fast and you will end up with holes in it if you use it for a ground. I don't have the time right now to go into it further but just don't do it.

 
HotRod53F100's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 551
PA

06-18-10, 01:09 PM   #3  
That's what I wanted, an expert opinion....THANKS! I'll skip the idea....

 
Search this Thread