Is there a reason why I have no ground wire to my aluminum hull?

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-17-10, 05:55 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 553
Is there a reason why I have no ground wire to my aluminum hull?

Everything in my boat has 2 wires and the grounds all connect together in the back. As an Electronics guy, I find it odd that there are no grounds connected to the aluminum hull. Is it just my boat or is there a reason for this? Sure would make it easier to add low powered stuff if I could connect to a common ground near the device.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-17-10, 10:26 PM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Montgomery MN
Posts: 541
Your hull will corrode fast and you will end up with holes in it if you use it for a ground. I don't have the time right now to go into it further but just don't do it.
 
  #3  
Old 06-18-10, 01:09 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 553
That's what I wanted, an expert opinion....THANKS! I'll skip the idea....
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes