What Kind of weld?

Old 07-15-05, 01:17 PM
What Kind of weld?

Hello i am new to the gokart scene. I have gotten ideas from many websites and am designing my gokart right now. but one question keeps coming up, what kind of welding equipment do i need? Should i use ARC, MIG, or Brazing? By the way this will be an offroad cart and i will most likely be really rough on it.

Sponsored Links
Old 07-15-05, 03:54 PM
either ARC or MIG. if you do a search on this site, i have posted in the past answering to a man asking which kind of welder to buy. search for "which welder" perhaps. a good arc welder is my first choice though it is hard to reach some places or weld small metal. if you do not have easy access to a 220 ( i think? or is it 210?) volt outlet, then a 110 volt mig would be the way to go. both have pros and cons. both will hold up very well to alot of abuse.. i broke so many bolted frame parts on my old go-kart that i just started to weld stuff up instead of bolting it back. i used arc welder (or stick welder) on most of the stuff that take most abuse. though a mig welder will most certainly get the job done. also with the mig welder is the option of gas vs. flux core wire. the gas bottle is more expensive but makes a nice, "from-the-factory" look weld. good luck!

Old 07-15-05, 04:04 PM
So as I dont care about a pretty looking weld then i guess i'll go with an ARC welder. Thanks mancoowner, that saves me some money cause i have old buddy that can lend me his ARC welder.

Old 07-15-05, 07:47 PM
that arc welder will get the job done! and in my mind is easier to use in certain situations, and is stronger (though there is probably no difference in strenght between the two). good luck!

Old 07-15-05, 08:25 PM