Do I need a Torque Converter??


  #1  
Old 07-20-05, 06:41 PM
haloboy84's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: De Kalb, Texas
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Do I need a Torque Converter or ATV Tranny??

I am working on the engine mounting for my gocart frame and just realized something, do i need a torque converter if i am using a atv engine and transmission? I will be using an engine with a 4 speed tranny with reverse. At first i thought no i dont need a torque converter but now i am not sure. Any help in this area would be much appreciated.
 

Last edited by haloboy84; 07-21-05 at 01:57 PM. Reason: No responses in a couple of days
  #2  
Old 07-21-05, 03:55 PM
triton
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
im pretty sure you dont, if the atv doesnt i dont know why the kart would
 
  #3  
Old 07-21-05, 07:24 PM
haloboy84's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: De Kalb, Texas
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the help triton. I've had some time to think about and it came to me in a vision I dont have to use a torque converter. It would be like putting a transmission behind a transmission. worse it would be like having a automatic trans behind a manual trans. That wouldnt work at all. Seems like it probably would bog down or have a delayed reaction.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question