Suzuki GS1000 Won't Start

Old 09-11-05, 01:44 PM
kurifu1
Visiting Guest
Suzuki GS1000 Won't Start

I have a 79 Suzuki GS1000 bike, just bought it recently. The bike is in really good condition and aside from have a few difficulties with getting it to start it runs really well.

When I first got the bike it started with no problems,usually on the first attempt to get the engine going.

Earlier this week I attempted to start the bike and it took me several minutes to get going. I could smell the gas so it is actually possible that I flooded the engine, I am still learning the quirks to getting this bike started when it is cold. Eventually we got it and I took it around the block and came home, no problems.

I dumped the clutch at one point which stalled my bike (dumb, but happened) and tried to start it again. I couldn't get it to start until I turned the headlight off on the bike.

Well this morning (3 days later) I tried to start the bike many times, and it sounds like it is about to actually get started, like the engine is turning once or twice on its own and than stops. I eventually killed the battery trying to do this.

I pulled the choke full out which to me means that I may have once again flooded the engine. I can smell the gas so I know that the fuel is getting to the engine, and the fuel is not very old at all in the bike, was just filled last week.

I am going to recharge my battery tonight, and try starting it tomorrow with the choke off and with the throttle wide open, this should air out any gasoline in the engine if the engine was in fact flooded, and will hopefully fix the problem.

By the sounds of it, the battery may have needed a charge the entire time due to the headlight issue, but I am not sure since it sounded like the starter was turning at the proper speed when I attempted to start it this morning.