Questions about building a custom Go Kart

Old 10-17-07, 06:45 AM
F
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Questions about building a custom Go Kart

Hi,
Before i begin asking questions i just want to let you know that i am no mechanic. I know very little about engines, drive chains, etc. I have been learning about them slowly but i have a couple questions about my engine.
I got it for free, along with a tractor that didn't work. Come to find out it was just the battery, unfortunately they moved away. Anyways, its a Briggs&Stratton Horizontal Shaft, 12.5 HP, IC Engine. Now i started this engine up before, and man i was so loud. I also have a John Deer tractor that has a 17 HP engine, and it is a lot quieter than that 12.5.

OK so my first question, is there a way to quiet the B&S Engine?

OK, i have a differential Axel that i got off the tractor that the engine was on. And i was wondering if i was to mount that on the Go Kart frame, does it matter how far it is away from the engine? I would have to run a belt from the engine to the Axel, would by minimizing the distance would i achieve more speed?

Last question, the drive sprocket, if it has more teeth what does that mean? More Torque?
If anyone can answer these questions that would be great.
Thanks,
-F.S

Sponsored Links
Old 10-17-07, 09:54 AM
M
Received 14 Votes on 13 Posts
I can give you some things to get you started. But we have some real cart guys on this forum who can get into the specifics of building and operating your cart, not only on a basic level but also on a performance level.

In terms of noise level, there are a variety of mufflers that can quiet your engine. Some of those will restrict exhaust flow more than others = lower performance. There are those that are a good compromise and I'm sure you'll be able to find one that works for you.