Spraybooth

Old 02-17-09, 06:02 PM
Spraybooth

I'm considering building a spraybooth in my garage. I am a carpenter by trade, so I know all the framing and finishing aspects of building the walls, drywall, etc. My problem is that I need advice about the CFM exhaust fan. I've been hearing that if I spray with urethane paints, I would need an explosion-proof fan. My room is going to be approximately 5 feet wide by 8 feet long and 7 feet high. I'm stuck as to what type of door to use for entry (maybe a solid door with a louver to allow air flow?). But I need to find out what size fan is going to be cut and installed on one of the exterior walls. Can I use a regular flourescent light fixture if I seal it with plexy glass inside the room? These are all legitimate concerns of mine because I have a family and that comes first. So I want to make sure that if I do this, I do it the right way. Please help with any advice. Thank you.

Sincerely,
250rear

Sponsored Links
Old 02-18-09, 09:51 AM
Group Moderator
Is this a temporary booth to spray one job or will it be permanant? Do you want a decent booth to spray some cabinets or a great booth for a show winning classic car?

As for how much air I think your budget will be the limit. I have seen commercial booths where both side walls are solid air inlet and outlet so the air in the room is changed several times a minute which takes a lot of fan power, energy and money.

No matter what you are painting you can never have enough light. Get too many lights and then double them. Point sources like a few quartz lights can be blinding and cast hard shaddows. I like long rows of fluorescents.
--