bicycle rim bent?

Old 04-27-09, 08:14 PM
bicycle rim bent?

This is a bicycle question, posted here because I don't see a forum listed specifically for bicycles.
I acquired an old fixer-upper 25-speed Peugeut bicycle, and when you turn it upside down and crank the pedals and watch the rear tire though the rear fork, it is very noticeable uneven spacing between the tire and the fork as the wheel turns around, as though the rim might be bent. And of course it rubs back and forth in an uneven manner on the brake pads the wheel turns around. But looking at at the tire/rim with the naked eye it doesn't really look bent, but it's hard to tell. Is there a way to check whether it is actually bent without taking the whole rim/tire off the bike? Is there something that might just be out of adjustment or is the wheel probably bent if it's acting as I described? I have no experience taking rear wheels off these multi-geared type bikes, and looks like a lot of trouble trying to get the wheel separated away from the chain and deraileur and all that.

Sponsored Links
Old 04-27-09, 08:56 PM
Group Moderator
You have some spokes out of adjustment. Going to take a good bit of time and patience (and a spoke wrench) to true it up, but it usually is do-able.

If you Google "trueing a bicycle wheel" or "adjusting bicycle wheel spokes" or something similar you will get a good bit of info on how to tackle it.

Old 04-27-09, 10:22 PM
Thanks Tow Guy. I Googled and came up with an excellent description of how to true a bicycle wheel by adjusting the spokes: How to True a Wobbly Wheel

Glad to know I don't have a bent rim.

But now I need to Google some more and find out how hard it is to take the dang rear wheel off too, because I need to put on a new rear tire. Probably gotta take the derraileur off and stuff?, hope its not too involved for somebody who's never tried it...

Old 04-28-09, 06:15 PM
Group Moderator