71 cushman shifter bypass??

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-02-12, 03:29 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 4
71 cushman shifter bypass??

Hi::
new here, just got a 71 cushman 36 volt electric golf cart.
the shifter has been taken apart:
before buying the parts, was wondering a good way to jump out the motor to make sure it runs::
not sure about any of the parts, so ?? where do I put power and ground to make it spin???
has 4 connectors on the motor A-1 A-2 S-1 and S-2::
guess would be A 1 or 2 were forward and reverse??
do both of the S go to ground??
or am I way out here???
thanks for any help
Dan
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-02-12, 04:37 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,374
A stands for armature so the A-1 and A-2 are the ends of the armature windings, or more correctly, the brushes. S would be a shunt wound field so S-1 and S-2 would be the ends of the field winding.

Connect A-1 and S-1 together and connect A-2 and S-2 together. Connect battery power + to A-1 and battery power - to A-2. The motor will kick so make sure it is solidly held. Reverse the S leads to run in reverse, A-1 and S-2 together and A-2 with S-1.

I suggest that you do it first with 12 volts rather than the full 36 volts as the torque developed with the full voltage is quite high. If it doesn't move with12 volts then you can try 24 volts. If it still doesn't move something serious is wrong.
 
  #3  
Old 11-02-12, 08:05 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 4
Furd:
thanks much for the responce::
will give it a try tomorrow and post the results::
Dan
 
  #4  
Old 11-03-12, 03:06 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 4
Furd:

went out and looked at my toy today:
the S-2 wire went to the throtel to ground
so what I did was jump A-1 to S-1
and A-2 to power:
the motor ran, slow but running::
swapped A-2 to S-1 and A-1 to power and it ran the other direction:
looks like I have to put some more time and money into this toy:
Thanks for the help:
yes, my solenoid must be shorted too, it should not have run unless it was::
but the foot throtle did change the speed:: lol progress::
Dan
 
  #5  
Old 06-15-13, 10:08 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 4
??? pictures??

anybody have a picture of the shifter for a Cushman?
I seem to be missing a bracket?? but not sure:??
also not sure just how the terminal board connects to the frame?::?
thanks in advance::
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'