go kart ignition problem

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-10-14, 09:52 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 4
go kart ignition problem

I need some help....I helped out a friend with a go kart ..I don't know the brand name but here goes....when u turn the key nothing happens,,,i checked the obvious kill switch next to the ignition..i jumped the selinoid and it started up....I checked the wires from the ignition for damage and ran a continuity check they were good....I swapped out the ignition and the cdi and it still does nothing...any help on this would be appreciated
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-11-14, 05:30 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 17,779
Well, you've verified that the starter works and the engine runs so that rules out the coil, solenoid or anything else on the engine. That leaves you with the key/ignition switch and the wires leading to/from it.
 
  #3  
Old 09-11-14, 07:56 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 4
I checked them both visually and with my multimeter they are good..i have continuity thru them....is there anything else I can check
 
  #4  
Old 09-11-14, 08:02 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 4
also put a new ignition in and a new cdi...this is stumping me
 
  #5  
Old 09-11-14, 08:32 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 17,779
I am confused why you're replacing so many engine components but say the engine starts and runs if you jump the solenoid.
 
  #6  
Old 09-11-14, 08:54 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hamilton County, Ohio
Posts: 4,288
If you jump the solenoid and it works, and you have verified that you have voltage from the start position or switch to the solenoid, then the internal switch in the solenoid is faulty. Replace the solenoid.
 
  #7  
Old 09-11-14, 10:49 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 4
I will try that thanks.....I figured the problem was the ignition and it came with a new cdi so I figured that was everything ..I never thought about the solenoid cause it seemed to work...
 
  #8  
Old 09-12-14, 10:28 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: MI
Posts: 2,527
Many factory-made gocarts require you push in the brake to crank it over. Look for a pressure switch on the master cylinder.
 
  #9  
Old 09-13-14, 05:08 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 13
There is another safety switch somewhere in the circuit. Brake, drivers seat...check for that also
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes