LED Headlight Fuse


  #1  
Old 03-13-23, 02:24 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,361
Received 41 Upvotes on 37 Posts
LED Headlight Fuse

I just ordered a set of 12 volt LED headlights from Amazon for my Cushman Golfster.. They had a push pull switch for it too, but I will have to wire it myself. I thought it might be a good idea to put a fuse in the line but not sure what amperage fuse size to put in an in line holder. The lights will be powered off the key switch accessory tab, supplied from a Marine sized 12 volt battery charged with an automotive alternator.
 
  #2  
Old 03-13-23, 04:37 PM
B
Member
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Ct.,USA
Posts: 3,158
Received 286 Upvotes on 254 Posts
Add the power of each led light, then divide by 12. Use that number to get the closest (larger) fuse value available.
 
  #3  
Old 03-13-23, 05:12 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,361
Received 41 Upvotes on 37 Posts
Ok Bob, there are two 18 watt each LED light brackets for a total of 36 watts. Using a formula for converting watts to amps (as fuses are usually rated in amps) on Google I came up with 3 amps being used in the line. I can protect that with a 5 amp fuse, correct?
 
  #4  
Old 03-13-23, 06:03 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 64,605
Received 3,884 Upvotes on 3,481 Posts
Correct..... 36watts @ 12v = 3A.
A five amp fuse should be ok.
A 7.5A would be ok too.
Your mostly protecting the wiring so the fuse should be near the supply battery.
 
  #5  
Old 03-13-23, 06:32 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,361
Received 41 Upvotes on 37 Posts
Thanks Pete. The Battery is in the back of the vehicle under a truck bed, but the hot line from the battery snakes up front to the solenoid on the firewall. I can easily attach the wire from the push pull switch there, and put the fuse holder into the line after the switch and then go to the lights.
 
  #6  
Old 03-13-23, 07:20 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 64,605
Received 3,884 Upvotes on 3,481 Posts
That's fine but remember a battery like that has almost unlimited power and the wiring must be protected.
 
  #7  
Old 03-14-23, 10:11 AM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,361
Received 41 Upvotes on 37 Posts
Well it would be just as easy to put the fuse into the wire just BEFORE it connects to the push pull switch. What do you think?
 
  #8  
Old 03-14-23, 11:15 AM
T
Member
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 740
Received 72 Upvotes on 67 Posts
As PJ mentioned you need to protect the new wire. So put the fuse as close to the power source as possible. i.e. it sounds as if your supplying the power to a wire attached to the solenoid (which then feeds to an on/off switch and onto the light). If this is the case then this "new" line is the one that needs to be protected and so the fuse should be close to the solenoid.

but the hot line from the battery snakes up front to the solenoid on the firewall
I'm assuming this is a main feed (heavy gauge) to the solenoid which feeds other items, not an individual wire for your new lights only.
 
  #9  
Old 03-14-23, 11:25 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 27,482
Received 2,107 Upvotes on 1,886 Posts
I put fuses right at the battery with an inline fuse holder. You want it as close to the power source as possible so it can do it's job protecting the wiring.
 
  #10  
Old 03-14-23, 11:34 AM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,361
Received 41 Upvotes on 37 Posts
10-4 on all of the above. The fuse protection for the new line will be just where the new wire attaches to the "Heavy guage" wire from the battery that attaches to the solenoid. I have an old Simplicity Landlord tractor that has a dash mounted headlight switch that sends power out to two old style filament headlights that has no fuse in it at all. There IS a 5amp fuse in a holder that is in the system that protects a LOT of wire around there so I guess they figured that would protect the headlight system too. (So far it has lol) Thanks for the suggestions! New lights holders fuses and holders are on the way! No more chasing coyotes in the dark!
 
  #11  
Old 03-14-23, 01:34 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 64,605
Received 3,884 Upvotes on 3,481 Posts
Gotcha. A fuse at the solenoid would be correct.
 
  #12  
Old 03-19-23, 03:16 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,361
Received 41 Upvotes on 37 Posts
LIghts are operational. A little fun getting the switch mounted, but I now own the night! (around here anyway)
 
  #13  
Old 03-19-23, 03:31 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 64,605
Received 3,884 Upvotes on 3,481 Posts
You are the man.
..............................................
 
WML13 voted this post useful.
  #14  
Old 03-19-23, 06:24 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,361
Received 41 Upvotes on 37 Posts
Thanks Pete! I really give all the credit to my moderators and fellow posters who have great suggestions!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question