Lawn Tractor Question

Old 09-27-02, 07:56 AM
what tractor/mower?

first off i want to apologize for this "which one should i buy" question? i know they get irratating but i dont know where elso to go. anyway, my wife and i just bought a home. it is just about an acre (little less) of lawn to mow. it is flat but just large enough where i want a riding mower. there are a few trees around the yard but no big grouping anywhere. i do not need a huge tractor. we do not plan on ever using it for hauling (a little maybe but just limbs that we prune back, nothing heavy). i would be looking at spending about 1400$. of course i would love a deere, kabota or cub cadet but i doubt i will be winning the lottery anytime soon. i looked at the sears craftsman models and they look decent. is there anything elso out there and what should i be looking for in a mower, ie ..what kind of engine manufactors are the best, reliable brands....etc.. i am very new to this and can use all the help i can get. i also would prefer to buy new if possible. any help will be greatly appreciated, thank you in advance.

Sponsored Links
Old 09-27-02, 07:55 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Hello and welcome Evan!

In my experience...Craftsman makes a good machine for the money. It is made by AYP. I would stay away from the ones with the engine in the rear...made by Murray. Go with a tractor style...42" or more. Get one with a Kohler engine, or a Briggs and Stratton...Kohler being the choice pick. If you do get a Briggs engine, stay away from the 17 hp Vanguard. They seem to be having a lot of trouble with that engine. For 1400.00 you should be able to get a 16 to 18 hp kohler, 42" blade deck, Heavy gague deck, and electric PTO. The electric PTO is much more reliable and trouble-free than the manual blade engagement style. The Hydrostatic transmissions also seem to be less trouble-prone.