Synthetic Oils

Old 11-21-02, 07:32 PM
Small Shop
Visiting Guest
Unhappy Amsoil

While in a discussion with my local small engine parts supplier. the subject of Amsoil synthetic two cycle oil came up. He says to mix it twice the amount of what they recommend on the side of the bottle. I've been using it for the last three years or more per the bottles instructions. I have a string trimmer, leaf blower, snow blower and I use the same 100:1 mix in all.

Sooooooooo, what say guys ???? Should I double the amount of the oil ??? So far, so good with no ill effects yet !!!

No, I'm not a Amsoil dealer or such, just a user of the product.

Steve

Sponsored Links
Old 11-21-02, 11:47 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Hello Small Shop!

I have not used the product enough to give you first-hand experience, however, I have heard good things about the oil. Many people are using it at 100:1 ratio with no problems. That is how I would run it. If you've had success with that ratio for 3 years, then it's probably safe to say you're doing it right. Doubling it would only use more oil and pollute more.

I think Marturo....a moderator in another forum has a lot of good info on using synthetic 2stroke oil. I'll see if I can get him over here to give you his thoughts.

Old 11-22-02, 05:37 AM
Small Shop
Visiting Guest
Thanks Cheese !

I was told to double the mix as the mechanic said he had seen cylinder scoring problems etc. The only "things" I have seen are cleaner spark plugs, no or minimal exhaust smoke quicker starting etc.

I'd like to see more comments, good or bad, posted here so thanks for getting in touch with the other guy you mentioned.

Steve

Old 11-22-02, 06:27 PM
Smile 100 to 1 make your 2 cycle happy.

Hi cheese & all