Carb Fuel Leak

Old 01-13-03, 09:37 AM
rstrueman
Visiting Guest
Tecumseh Fuel Leak

I have a Mastercraft Snowblower with a Tecumseh 8HP H80 Engine. My problem relates to fuel leaking/dripping from the set screw on the bottom of the carb while the machine is sitting in my garage. The machine starts and runs okay, lots of power. I even closed off the fuel valve and let the machine run until it ran out of fuel. I place a stainless steel bowl under the carb area and after three days I am still empting the leaked fuel back into the tank. I have replaced the set screw gasket and seal twice to try and correct this with no luck. Am I into a carb overhaul or could this be related to an inlet line problem or something else I have overlooked ? Thanks for any help you can provide.

Sponsored Links
Old 01-13-03, 07:57 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Hello rstrueman!

Sounds like you're gonna have to rebuild the carb. I think you have a leaking needle and seat. Replace them both, and a new float would be a good idea while you're in there. It also sounds like your fuel shutoff is not fully sealing off the flow of gas.

Let us know how it goes!

Old 01-13-03, 10:26 PM
Tcumcman
Visiting Guest
Leaking Carb via Power Screw

If you've replaced the gasket around the power adjustment
screw that seals it to the float bowl, then the gas is coming
through the power screw itself, OR....there is a potential
pinhole or crack in the float bowl. You can purchase the
main adjustment screw SEPERATELY, and it comes in a
repair kit, too. Give us the spec number that goes with
the H80 (that's an "old girl") and I'll tell you what you need.

Tcumcman

Old 01-14-03, 01:03 AM
Forum Topic Moderator