Mantis 2 cycle tiller

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-31-03, 10:59 AM
JustSid
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Mantis 2 cycle tiller

Hello everyone, I just found these forums. Very nice stuff here

Onto business.

I have a Mantis tiller, 2cycle engine, about 20 pounds. I really like this thing but I am having SO many problems getting it started. I know practically nothing about 2 cycle motors so is there anyone that can give me any hints?

To me the compression sounds good but it just doesn't "catch."

Here is what I have done:

1.) primed the carb by depressing the little bubble until it fills with gas

2.) closed off the air.

3.) Pull the cord.

It just won't turn over.

I have replaced the air filter and spark plug, and in the case of possible flooding I have removed the spark plug and let it air out for hours... It just won't start. It just had an overhaul last season also!

Thanks in advance if anyone knows.

Frustrated,
JustSid
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-31-03, 04:32 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,814
Hello JustSid!

Determine whether you have spark at the plug or not, then if you do, try squirting a bit of gas into the plug hole and start it. If it runs for a second or two, you have a fuel problem.

I am going to move this question to the small engines forum, where pros in the field will be more likely to see it.
 
  #3  
Old 03-31-03, 06:06 PM
JustSid
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thank you very much Cheese, I didn't see the small engine forums, sorry!

Yes there is spark... I pull the plug out and cranked it to find apsark between the plug and the chassis.

I am leaning more towards a fuel issue actually... After pulling ot for seemingly hours I get a sound like it almoist wants to catch but then stops... Tomorrow I am goingto clean out the fuel lines and see what happens with some new gas/oil fuel mixture... again, thank so much.

Almost there!

-JS
 
  #4  
Old 03-31-03, 06:10 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,814
Quote: "Yes there is spark... I pull the plug out and cranked it to find apsark between the plug and the chassis."

There must be a spark at the electrode in the plug. If it is sparking between the plug and the chassis, but not at the plug's electrode, you have a bad plug.
 
  #5  
Old 04-01-03, 07:10 PM
JustSid
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Ok, did a MASS change of everything. Spark plug, air filter, gas.. all new...

Thing started like a champ.

SO being the geek I am I started putting old components back in until it failed.

Turns out that it was a combination of bad things. Yes the spark plug was bad but I also had some stale gas

Thanks Cheese, you da man!

-JS
 
  #6  
Old 04-01-03, 11:03 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,814
Anytime! Glad I could help.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes