Starting Problems

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-02-03, 08:12 AM
gclausen
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Question home network

I have a network at home that has my personal Desktop PC on it. The Desktop PC is running win98. With my old work notebook (win2000) computer I used to be able to login to my work domain while connected to my home network and still be able to copy files to/from my home Desktop PC as well as print to the printer connected to it. With my new work notebook (win2000) computer I can see my Desktop PC but I am not able to connect to any of the "shared" drives or print to the "shared" printer.

I can't see any obvious configuration differences. Any ideas?

thx.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-02-03, 10:00 AM
tae's Avatar
tae
tae is offline
Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 2,469
are you mapping the drives or using shortcuts through my network places? what protocols are installed on win2k machine(start,settings,network,connection,properties)?
i.e.client for microsoft networks,file and print sharing for microsoft,tcp/ip,nwlink netbios,etc.
when you added the printer drivers to laptop,you used network printer option?
can you reverse it and see win2k from the desktop machine? How were the old win2k and new win2k machines formated? fat32 or ntfs?
 
  #3  
Old 06-02-03, 10:26 AM
gclausen
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
To get to the shared drives I do a "Start->Run->" then type
" \\machineName"
Installed network components are:
Client for Microsoft Networks
Eacfilt Driver
File and Printer Sharing for Microsoft Netowrks
Internet protocol (TCP/IP)

I haven't added the printer driver yet but I was able to use it as a network printer on my old laptop

Yes I can see the win2k machine from the desktop machine

Don't know the filesystem of the old machine but the new one uses NTFS.
 
  #4  
Old 06-02-03, 07:39 PM
tae's Avatar
tae
tae is offline
Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 2,469
First,go here:http://www.homenethelp.com/web/howto/net-update.asp
pick your 2 operating systems, and follow the instructions.
If that doesn't help, try disabling the Eacfilt Driver and see if that works. If it does, great, but if not, try finding the computer using my network places. Are you using a router or nortel product?
.
 

Last edited by tae; 06-02-03 at 08:48 PM.
  #5  
Old 06-03-03, 05:13 AM
notuboo's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Kansas City MO
Posts: 1,780
For some reason, MS likes NetBEUI installed for a home network. It does not have all the overhead info that TCP/IP uses.

Hope this helps...
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:00 AM.