valves

Old 07-12-03, 10:14 PM
valves

i have a 3.5 hp briggs that quits running after about 10 mis. if i put a cold plug in it it will run for about 30 seconds before it loses rpms and stalls. i put 2 good coils and 2 good carbs on it with same result. i took out the exhaust valve. the stem had a lot of carbon on it which may explain why the clearances varied on it. i cleaned it, ground it, and set the clearnce to .010. problem is i cant get the clip back on. what kind of valve spring compressor so i need. i have seen a lot of variations and i need a tool to fit. also i am new to valve repair. am i on the right track?

Sponsored Links
Old 07-13-03, 12:03 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Hello l.mitchell!

Briggs has a special valve spring compressor, made to use in briggs engines. They work well, but a pair of flat head screwdrivers will work too. (insert the valve with the spring and clip already in the valve chamber, and pry the spring and clip back and on). You might be on the right track, but it also sounds like you might have a partially sheared flywheel key.

Old 07-13-03, 07:30 AM
Admin Emeritus
Hello l.mitchell. Welcome to our Do-It-Yourself Web Site and our Small Engine forum.

Another possibility is vapor lock caused by a clogged vent hole in the fuel tanks cap. Remove the fuel tanks cap and run the engine.

If the engine continues to run well for a reasonable time span, the vent hole in the fuel cap is restricted and or plugged. Clear it or replace the cap.

Another method would be to remove the fuel hose at the carb and allow fuel to flow freely for a minute with the fuel cap on the tank. Flow should flow freely for at least one minute.

If fuel does not, slows down in the flow rate or stops, remove the cap and continue the test. doing so will determine if the cap is the cause of the problem.

Based on the problem description it apears to be but may not be a fuel related problem. Fuel not getting into the carb or flowing to the carb from the fuel tank.