learning experiences

Old 07-14-03, 11:04 PM
learning experiences

I have a question for all who are mechanics by trade and have made mistakes over the years while repairing things. I am currently almost finished overhauling the engine on an old case tractor. Well, while removing all the parts, the teacher prefers if I put all the bolts in one bucket, keep in mind that there are probably about 100 bolts total. Well, I seem to have lost the four bolts that hold the rocker arm assembly on the head and he was not thrilled when he found out. He kept telling me how much I messed up and not to let it happen again, but the part that struck me was that he told me that I might need to look for another line of work. I like working on tractors and lawn mowers and other lawn/agricultural equipment. In fact, a while back, I had ran a tap through all 52 holes in the frame of the tractor to clean them out and sanded all the gasket surfaces until they were shiny, well he was very pleased and even told me that he might get me a job working on case and kubota tractors and lawn equipment in just a couple of months. Which leads me to my main question, have any of you guys ever messed up while in the proccess of learning the trade or am I destined for disaster. I have seen people that were still learning mess up, but I never saw them loose bolts. It has been 6 months since I broke anything so that isn't much of a problem. So does anyone have any experiences to tell or tips to pass on that might get me to think this won't go on forever. I have learned a lot and I don't think I will have a problem with loosing stuff again. There was probably ten people working on that tractor at the same time so it was hard to keep track of everything since I am liable for the repair of the tractor. Thanks for helping out this confused student.

Sponsored Links
Old 07-15-03, 05:54 AM
Joe_F
Visiting Guest
Teacher had a bad day. Mistakes are human, they happen, even to teachers.