Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

recoil starter??

Visiting Guest

12-22-03, 06:13 AM   #1  
doitnewf
recoil starter??

I have an old Mastercraft snow blower that i got from a friend.
Looks kinda old maybe 20 + yrs.
It has a briggs engine.
The starter rope broke and I'm stuck as how to take of the recoil to replace the rope.
Does anyone have any experience with this type of blower or is there any sites I might check for "vintage blowers"?
Any suggestions greatly appreciated
Thx,
John

Sponsored Links
Visiting Guest

12-22-03, 06:39 AM   #2  
jlm
Usually you can remove the starter shroud with four bolts, two at the top and two at the sides. After this wind the spring in the correct direction and clamp in place so you can remove the old rope. Install a new rope and allow it to pull into the starter and adjust the end so the pull handle goes up to the shroud tight. If your rewind spring is broken it's going to get a little tricky to replace that. Good luck.

Visiting Guest

12-22-03, 12:01 PM   #3  
doitnewf
recoil

Thanks JLM
It looks like the shroud is held in place on top by the head bolts??
I dont want to distrub if I dont have to.
Any ideas?
Thx
Jp

Visiting Guest

12-22-03, 11:10 PM   #4  
Gill Is The Man