Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Engine Running Problem

Visiting Guest

01-08-04, 03:28 PM   #1  
alinwrkshp
Craftsman Snow blower wont stay started

I have read through several of the posts and attempted the advice given by cheese in one of the other posts. Bear with me i am very new to small engines and know even less about this snowblower.

Its a 20 inch self propelled Craftsman Eager-1. I dont know how old and I have no clue what engine. I do know the model number is 536-90550, if that helps identify.

My problem is much like one mentioned about a 5hp tecumsah. I can poor gas in the spark plug hole and it will stay started about 3 seconds, but then dies. So i pulled the bowl and screw mentioned off of the carb and cleaned it. When i first pulled it, there was a strong varnish(?) smell from the liquid that came out, and there was very little of it. I found the bolt mentioned and tried to clean it thouroughly. Although im a little skittish around it b/c i dont know anything about adjusting carbs and have know clue what i could do to get replacement parts if i broke it.

The screw is odd. It is spring adjustable from what I can tell and it is hollow with a sharp pointed plastic(?) spike running down the center of the shaft, inside the bolt itself. Looks to be some sort of way to adjust how much fuel is coming in. There is a single hole 3/4 of the way up on the outside of the screw in the threads. I cleaned this all out, hopefully good enough and put it all back together. I didnt mess too much with the inside spike, since i dont really know what it is. I also did not change the compression of the spring, just unscrewed the whole thing.