Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Engine Starting Problem

Visiting Guest

02-06-04, 12:35 PM   #1  
Jay1911
Yet another Tecumseh 5HP that won't start

Hello to all, my name is Jay and I'm a newbie. I have been reading the other posts with the Tecumseh starting problems, and followed all the advice given. Here is whats happening and what I've done so far.
It's a Simplicity snowblower with a Tecumseh 5Hp model HS50 with a series one carb. I tried to start it on Monday and it sputtered once and backfired from the carb 3 times in a row then nothing. Yes it had last years gas in it.
So I removed the old gas from the tank and the bowl. Put in new gas. Put in a new spark plug. Put in a new rebuild kit in the carb. I checked for spark and it is good. I checked to make shure the float floated and set it to the 11/64" drill bit setting. I know the mixture set screw holes are free because I replaced them with the rebuild kit. Set the mixture screw 1 1/4 turns out. The idle screw 1 turn out.
Now when I try to start the engine I can see gas/air mixture comming out of the muffler on the pull and then out of the carb on the return of the pull start. It will also sputter out the carb when I really crank on it ( 6 or 8 pulls in a row).
Thanks in advance to any and all advice given. Jay.
P.S. I really need to get this thing going before the next snow fall here in MN because I threw my back out on the last big snowfall shoveling.

Sponsored Links

GA

02-06-04, 02:06 PM   #2  
On rebuilding the carb did you clean it also? If so did you make sure the high speed needle ports were clean and clear.

Other than that I don't know!

Visiting Guest

02-06-04, 03:14 PM   #3  
Jay1911