riding mower - Engine problems

Old 04-14-04, 11:09 AM
Poulan riding mower -Engine problems

I have a 1990 Poulan 12 HP (6 speed) riding mower that was originally purchased in 1990. It was given to me last year and looked to be in great condition. I noticed this winter that there was all kinds of oil on my garage floor under the engine. I can't see exactly where the oil came from so I cleaned it up, put in frsh oil and gas, checked the spark plug and tried to start it. I am quite handy, but never really worked on engines. The engine will turn over, run for up to a minute but then dies out. There is also white smoke and gas misting out of the muffler. I took off the air filter and cleaned it. It seems like the carb is getting excessive gas. I tried to find a small engine repair shop, but there is nothing within 25 miles of my house and I really have no way to transport the mower to one. Can anyone give a novice some things to try. Please remember I am not a pro with engines.

Thanks for your time.

Sponsored Links
Old 04-14-04, 11:27 AM
Usually when a engine burns white smoke, it means that you have water in the gas tank or there is water in the carb. As far as all the oil on the floor under the engine, has it done it again aftor you replaced with more oil? I think the reason your engine stoped is because your spark plug are getting fouled because of the smoke. You could be burning some oil too. But usually when it is oil burning it will burn black or blue smoke. Give us some more info so we can help you more.

Old 04-14-04, 11:27 AM