Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

tiller engine needs repair

Visiting Guest

05-08-04, 07:03 AM   #1  
jim wheely
tiller engine needs repair

i am trying to repair a 4 horse briggs and stratton. i am a complete novice. here is where i am at.
i got it to spark by cleaning the magneto and points. it now runs but only if i cover the air intake and basically smuther it.
it has a diaphram carb. i have cleaned the carb and replaced the diaphram.
i see flames come out of the exhaust. and i have seen it in the carb.
i have been told it may be a sticky valve. so i removed the cover over valve springs and the valves seem to move freely. (but i have not removed the head so i say seem to move freely)
the pionts have a gap in them and i do not know if it is supposed to be there or if they are worn out)
please help the motor is on a tiller and the weeds are over taking my garden

Sponsored Links

05-08-04, 09:20 AM   #2  
Does your carb have adjustment screws? If it does, you may have messed with them. It sounds like the engine is running lean to me. Please post your engines model numbers so we can help you better. The numbers should be stamped in on a plate, or on the shroud somewhere. Thanks...

NY

05-08-04, 09:34 AM   #3  
Hello Jim