Not Even Had It Week, Yard Man Trimmer Probelm

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-02-04, 07:41 AM
littleworker's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sweet Home Tennessee
Posts: 268
Cool Not Even Had It Week, Yard Man Trimmer Probelm

I just recently bought a Yard Man trimmer last saturday and i am already having probelms. On the starting directions, it says to prime until gas is in the primer bulb, well it stays in there all of the time without having to prime it. i did at first
start it like that and the trimmer would run fine until i shut it off. when i go back to start it up it will start up and i will give it thottle to warm the engine back up so it doesn't quit. i got tired of that so i prime it 3x now just to make sure that it has enough gas in the carb. the first time i did that it ran great even after i shut it off and started it back up. now it is bavk to the way that it was. help please because this will be the third trimmer that i took back this year if this one goes back.
It is a Yard Man 400, 31cc 2-cycle engine, curved shaft , 17-inch cutting path with dual line . help please and i will get any other info if you need it.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-02-04, 02:58 PM
puey61's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 3,224
The primer merely purges the fuel system of any air, it does not prime perse'. The choke is the only aid in actually starting the machine. YOu can hit the primer as many times as you like and it still won't flood. What you need to do is to find the start procedure particular to your machine. typically, 5-6 primes, full choke for 2 pulls then move to half choke. It should then start. Allow it to run at half choke for about a minute to allow the engine to warm up.
 
  #3  
Old 07-02-04, 04:53 PM
littleworker's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sweet Home Tennessee
Posts: 268
Cool

hey i just got done mowing trimming my sis's yard and it tried to do it again. i let it cool down and then started it from full-choke. it done the same thing so what i let it do is run with no choke and it warmed up after 2 min and it gave me no more probelms but the next time i start it i will try that. oh yeah, in half-choke i will hold the throttle for about 10 seconds to warm it up then will let it run in it lke you told me. thakns a bunch.
 
  #4  
Old 07-07-04, 10:58 AM
littleworker's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sweet Home Tennessee
Posts: 268
Cool

thanks for all of the help. i started it and gave it throttle for 10 seconds and let it warm up for another 20 seconds in half-choke and then i put it in run and go. no probelms. thanks again azis.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes