Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

8HP L-Head V-Shaft B&S Engine

07-05-04, 07:22 PM   #1  
8HP L-Head V-Shaft B&S Engine

Hi Cheese. Remember my Murray Rear Engine Rider? Well, I had been using it alot lately for the past 4 months and did not check the oil. All of the sudden while running the engine, you could hear it working harder to run untill it completely stopped and would not move when trying to crank it. When opening the oil fill stick, lots of white smoke was coming out. Let cool a while and I checked the oil, bone dry. Never seen a engine bone dry of oil before. So I added oil to the engine. I kept pressing the button in pulses over and over again untill I could get the pisten to start moving. Then with more pulses, I got it to fire and stop. Repeated a few more times till I got it to fire up and stay running. I ran for a while at low idle to lubercate everything. This seems to have worked and the engine is running fine except for a light hitting sound. I talked with a old guy about it and he told me that its my wrist pins on the rod that is creating that sound. Do you think that is what it is Cheese? He said my engine is not going to last long. Do you think I have any chance with this engine without buying a new one?

You don't think that because of the engine seisure, that it has messed anything up inside the engine due to overheating? For a new 8HP engine from briggs I think it will cost me something in the 300 dollar range. And more for a higher quality engine.

Sponsored Links
Forum Topic Moderator

GA

07-05-04, 10:23 PM   #2  
Hi Terminator!

No, it's not the wrist pin. It's probably the rod knocking on the crank journal. You might still have a chance of having a good engine if you rebuild it now. If you run it much longer, it will probably break the rod and quite possibly ruin the entire engine.