Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Lawn Mower causing brown spots

Visiting Guest

07-06-04, 08:05 PM   #1  
caperdeb
Lawn Mower causing brown spots

This is my first time using this forum so bear with me. We have a Sears ride-on mower (over 10 years old) and within 24 hours of using it, brown circles appear randomly over the lawn. My husband has checked it over for leaks and can't detect any oil/gas leaking. There is nothing on the floor of our storage shed yet something must be leaking as it is cutting. He suspected a seal gone bad but can't seem to find anything. Anyone else ever had the problem - and anyone have an idea of what it could be. Thanks for your input!

Sponsored Links
Forum Topic Moderator

GA

07-07-04, 01:24 AM   #2  
Hello caperdeb!

I'll bet that the spots are in places where the mower gets stopped for a moment, but is still running. Sounds like the muffler is aimed at the ground and burning the grass with the heat.

"Who is John Galt?" - Ayn Rand (Atlas Shrugged)

God bless!

07-07-04, 10:49 AM   #3  
your blades could be real dull and could be causing the grass to brown at the top or you might have bug spray on the wheels or something like that but i seriously doubt it. cheese is probably right because it does sound like there is something burning the yard or your baldes could be dull and out of balances or the pulleys that the blades are mounted to.

Visiting Guest

07-13-04, 02:54 PM   #4  
Otoe
Is it really due to the mower? Could you have brown patch or dollar spot?
You may have this which is hidden by the long grass until you cut it.

NY

07-13-04, 03:02 PM   #5