Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

gas grass trimmer

Visiting Guest

07-07-04, 07:29 AM   #1  
deepcharge
gas grass trimmer

I need help to find out what is wrong with my Mcculloch gas trimmer.
Every time I primer and start it....it would only run for a couple of seconds and die and when I re-start it, it would do the same thing and die, untill it stop from starting. I am just a novice in my home gardening after we have this house a year ago now, will any body please help me diagnose this thing and I will be willing to work on it as long as it will run again as usual.
Thank you for any help you could give.
Deepcharge

Sponsored Links
Visiting Guest

07-07-04, 10:12 AM   #2  
johntcc1
If you have ever had the fuel lines off, make sure they were replaced in the correct position. (ie-from the tank to carb, then back to tank.) I had a similar problem until I dug up the manual and realized I goofed when I replaced the lines. Swapping them around and it ran like a champ. Next is to ensure that there are no holes in the fuel line and that fuel pick-up is below the level of the fuel in the tank. Very easy to screw this up when you replace the lines. (Ask me how I know.) Seems that I replace the fuel lines every year because the fuel eats away at them, and the lines I get claim to be fuel lines. You can also check the manufacturers webpage for an online manual if you've lost yours.

07-07-04, 10:40 AM   #3