Mower Timing Problem ?

Old 08-01-04, 06:57 AM
6acreplus
Visiting Guest
Question Mower Timing Problem ?

Newbie here, first post. Have Craftsman riding mower with 15 HP Kohler engine owned for about 10 years. Now hard to start, developed gas leak on carb, replaced carb. Starts better but frequently backfires on starting and seems to have less power. Wonder if timing is the problem? Any suggestions appreciated, including how to check / set timing. Thanks. Roland

Old 08-01-04, 07:40 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 142 Upvotes on 131 Posts
Hello Roland!

Have you replaced the spark plug? There are no timing adjustments on your engine. A bad plug will cause the problems you described. If this is an OHV kohler command, it will use a champion RC12YC plug.

Old 08-03-04, 03:41 AM
6acreplus
Visiting Guest
Smile 6acreplus

Thanks, Replaced 3 year old plug per your suggestion, runs better but still backfires on starting. Backfiring just started this year, mower Craftsman Kohler OHV Command 15 HP about 10 years old. New carb but backfired with old leaking carb also. Any other thoughts? Thanks, Roland

Old 08-03-04, 03:06 PM
Upvotes: 0
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
Without having the ability to hear the machine at start up, I'm wondering if you have a cough rather than a backfire. Check to be sure you are getting full choke. To do such you will need to remove the air filter and look at the "butterfly" valve and move the choke control to full and observe the position of the valve, making sure it is fully closing off the opening of the carb. Another possibility is old or just trashy fuel. Let us know about the choke position first then, if needed, we'll continue on.

Old 08-10-04, 07:53 AM
6acreplus
Visiting Guest
Thanks - Still Plugging Away at Problem