Basic Starter Questions???

Old 08-16-04, 01:48 PM
J_M
Visiting Guest
Basic Starter Questions???

I have a Craftsman 12.5hp lawn tractor/mower which is having some starter issues and I could use a little help. As I turn the key the starter clicks and then with additional turns of the key is will slowly get to the point of turning over.

I jumped the starter by connecting the main lead to the positive end of the starter and it will turn but not consistently. I'm assuming that there are 2 solenoids on a tractor, one that directs the electricity to the starter and one on the starter that engages the flywheel. The question that I have is what causes the starter to disengage the flywheel? This sometimes occurs when I have the key turned but the engine hasn't turned over.

Sorry about the basic question, but I'm missing the concept and it helps me to try to understand the problem if I can "get it". I'm not very good with autos and small engines, much better with computers and rock walls : )

thanks in advance,

J

Sponsored Links
Old 08-16-04, 02:57 PM