replacing Tecumseh Engine

Old 08-17-04, 05:36 PM
rwherth
Visiting Guest
replacing Tecumseh Engine

Our riding Snapper with a 8hp Tecumseh threw a rod and we ordered and just received the designated replacement. It came with no instructions. We are wondering about the wiring . The engine came with a three wire harness and I believe our Snapper has only two wires. We may have trouble connecting the engine to the throttle and wiring without some help. Is there any hope for us?

Sponsored Links
Old 08-17-04, 07:58 PM
Azis
Visiting Guest
Hi rw,
By all means you have come to the right place.
If you can provide the model# of your snapper, and distinguish wires from control cables, do your best to descripe any problems or questions, and the forum will transcribe with help best as possible.

Old 08-19-04, 07:05 AM
rwherth
Visiting Guest
Hi az,
I entered the info you asked for yesterday but have no idea where it went. I am new to this procedure(on line forum). The mower is a Snapper 25066 and the engine is a tvm220. The mower has two wires, one red, one black. The engine has three wires, one red,yellow and green. The mower seems to have an interlock with the blade brake, the keyed ignition and the transmissiion. We are thinking the green is ground and should be connected to the black and maybe the red to the red, but what about the yellow? My husband is concerned that the throttle control has no evident way to kill the engine when pulled all the way to off. Is he a worry wart? I hope this gets to you and you can offer us some assistance.
Thanks, rw

Old 08-19-04, 01:57 PM
Azis
Visiting Guest
I checked snappers site and could not find the model# you gave. If you go to www.snapper.com click on publications in the upper right corner, you can look for your model there and check the parts and owners manuals. Also here is a service manual that covers your engine. http://www.cpdonline.com/692509.pdf