weed trimmer spark?

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-13-04, 11:50 AM
johnjay28
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
weed trimmer spark?

i have been having a lot of trouble to start this sears trimmer. when it does start it runs rough. i removed the spark plug, attached the wire back toit and grounded the plug to the cylinder head. when it got dark i pulled on the rope and only saw it spark once i pulled on the rope again and thru all the revolutions i only saw 1 spark. isn't it suppose to spark once every revolution? this unit does not have points or cond. does this type of coil malfunction like this or could it be out of adjustment. this coil has never been removed. the wire seems to be ok. what should i check next? thanks john
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-13-04, 05:51 PM
Sharp Advice's Avatar
Admin Emeritus
Join Date: Feb 1998
Location: The Shake and Bake State USA
Posts: 10,440
Hello johnjay28. Welcome to the Do-It-Yourself Web Site and our Small Engine forum.

What you might need to do first, especially when there is not spark at a spark plug, is test the kill switch and wire to it. Switch may be grounded out or defective. The wire grounded out or is grounding out.

Reading this thread will point out all the other possibleities but none of which where the cause. The kill switch wire was the cause. http://forum.doityourself.com/showthread.php?t=182182

Your machine may likely have the same problem. Check it before assuming some other part(s) are the cause.

If you need further assistance, use the reply button. Using the reply button moves the topic back up to the top of the daily topic list automatically & keeps all communications in this one thread.

Regards & Good Luck. Sharp Advice.
Master Small Engine Tech. Web Site Host, Forums Monitor and Multiple Topics Moderator.
"Accurate Power Equipment Company." Engine Diagnostics Services & Repair.
 
  #3  
Old 10-14-04, 03:57 PM
johnjay28
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
weed trimmer spark?

manny thanks to sharp advice.
your info did the trick. i totally dismantled the trimmer and started checking for a ground but everything was ok. i happened to look at the coil gap and it looked pretty wide. it was set at .032 i recall you mentioned between .010 and .012. i reset the gap to .011 and assembled the unit, gassed it up, primed it and on the first pull it came to life. scared the s;'' out of me as i was not expecting this. i shut it down and restarted it ten times and it starts on the first pull. since i bought it new i always had trouble starting it. thanks again. john
 
  #4  
Old 10-16-04, 02:17 AM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,814
Good job! Glad you got it fixed!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes