Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Raw gas in Tecumseh crankcase breather

12-06-04, 05:53 PM   #1  
Raw gas in Tecumseh crankcase breather

I have a Tecumseh H60 755 06R, Ser.# 002RD (last digit D may be 0) on my Troy-Bilt tiller that starts easily and seems to run perfectly for a short period of time but then dies. I adjusted the carburator float thinking the float was sticking, but that made no difference. The engine still starts easily and runs fine for a short period then dies. I then discovered raw gas with a tinge of oil in the crankcase breather. I plan to disassemble the engine, but since I am new to this, only rebuilding an old Brigss and Stratton engine years ago, I would like to know what some of you really good mechanics think may be the source of my problem. I'm guessing a problem with the intake valve but I don't know what I'm doing.
Does anyone have an idea where I should expect to find the problem and/or what I should do when I tear this engine down?

I thank you in advance for your assistance.

Respectfully,
Dan

Sponsored Links

12-06-04, 10:04 PM   #2  
Before you try anything look at the breather itself. There should be a diaphram type check valve inside. The check valve keeps the crankcase from drawing in outside air when the piston is coming up on the compression or exhaust stroke. When the piston comes down any blowby or air inside the crankcase should be pushed down the tube to the carb and sent back to the combustion chamber. Inspect the diaphram to make sure it's not cracked and there's no holes in it.