Snowthrower electric start problem.


  #1  
Old 02-07-05, 06:34 AM
Salvatore
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Snowthrower electric start problem.

We have had extremely below 0 degrees weather for two weeks. The electric start on my Craftsman model no.536.887991 9hp tecumseh engine worked fine for the first week of that cold spell. Then one morning I hooked up the cord and got a split second's noise and then nothing. Since then I would occasionally try the electric start and get a brief sound and then nothing. The weather has warmed up substantially and I checked the cord which is fine. I don't believe I have used the Electric start more than 25 or so times and the 2 year warranty expired a month ago. It does start rather easily with the recoil but I am up there in years and may have to rely someday on the electric starter. Any suggestions? Thank you.
 
  #2  
Old 02-07-05, 07:32 AM
M
Member
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 478
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Start button

Sounds like a problem in the pushbutton for the starter. I believe I read on a previous thread the starter and puhbutton have to be bought as a unit. I too have a Techumseh w/ elec. start. Haven't had any problems with starter, but If I do I'm sure I can figure out a way to replace the pushbutton with the right amp. rated aftermarket button. Could you elaborate on the "brief sound"? Is it a click or does the starter try to turn the engine? I did have one episode in that it arced on the male prongs where the ext. cord attaches. I cut the plastic shroud off around the male prongs in order to make sure they are clean. If you have a small wire brush, try cleaning the flat prongs and try a different ext. cord that will fit in the cover.
Hope this helps,
Mike A
 
  #3  
Old 02-07-05, 11:39 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: 5353'57.39" N 12244'13.58" W
Posts: 189
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
electric start

those start switches are a mickey mouse thingie. A lot of people replace them with a push button from something else or just a regular house light swith and box. Some I've seen are removed and just a ext cord plug end put on it. Tecumseh used to sell a new switch for can you believe---$40.00. But no more. Still having probs?

S/T
 
  #4  
Old 02-08-05, 08:37 AM
Salvatore
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Mike A.

The sound the electric start makes for a split second is as if it is going to turn the engine. But then again it is only for a split second. Thank you for your response and if you think of anything else I will check back daily until Feb 14.

Originally Posted by mla2ofus
Sounds like a problem in the pushbutton for the starter. I believe I read on a previous thread the starter and puhbutton have to be bought as a unit. I too have a Techumseh w/ elec. start. Haven't had any problems with starter, but If I do I'm sure I can figure out a way to replace the pushbutton with the right amp. rated aftermarket button. Could you elaborate on the "brief sound"? Is it a click or does the starter try to turn the engine? I did have one episode in that it arced on the male prongs where the ext. cord attaches. I cut the plastic shroud off around the male prongs in order to make sure they are clean. If you have a small wire brush, try cleaning the flat prongs and try a different ext. cord that will fit in the cover.
Hope this helps,
Mike A
 
  #5  
Old 02-08-05, 08:38 AM
puey61's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 3,224
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If in fact you have a starter button box problem, they are still available through Tecumseh, part # 35454 for a price of $65. Bear in mind though that you likely have a starter motor problem. It may be as simple as a dry Bendix. I suggest, if you have no experience with these, taking the starter assembly off and take to your local shop and have them inspect and test.
 
  #6  
Old 02-08-05, 08:45 AM
Salvatore
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thank you, That seems to be a good idea. Better to

make sure the starter is ok first before investing in a switch of some kind. Might a toggle switch work?
 
  #7  
Old 02-09-05, 12:41 PM
puey61's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 3,224
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A toggle switch likely would work, provided it is substantial enough for the high current associated with these starters but again, have the starter checked for any trouble within it.
 
  #8  
Old 02-09-05, 12:58 PM
hopkinsr2's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: canada
Posts: 1,563
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Check the yellow pages for a shop that repairs electric motors. With any luck is only a sticky brush or just a clean up & lube like puey61 mentioned. Lotsa snow & water around make things sticky!! Good luck!! (R)
 
  #9  
Old 02-10-05, 07:53 AM
Salvatore
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Hopkinsr2

Thank you. The motor is coming off tomorrow and will inform you of the results. If it is going to cost me over 20 bucks to repair a motor that costs 125. Ill pull the cord.
 
  #10  
Old 02-10-07, 07:55 PM
O
Member
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Tecumseh switch assebly part # 35454

I take care of my neighbor's snowblower and he had the starter switch fail. They wanted $71.03 for the switch (assembly 35454) from the local shop where he purchased the snowblower. What I ended up doing was taking the case apart. It has a hard gasket along with several plastic pins holding it together. I used a saw and carefully cut through the outside of the switch case. I found out that the switch used inside appears to be a Cherry Switch E13-00E. I ordered one today from Jameco for $2.65. Their part number is 423994. (http://www.jameco.com)The switch is also availble from Allied Electronics for $2.71. Their part number is 908-1435. The link to the manufacturer's information is www.jameco.com/Jameco/Products/ProdDS/423994.pdf. Shipping for UPS is $6.49. Hopefully I will get this before the next snow fall.

I thought someone else may find this information useful.
 
  #11  
Old 01-29-12, 04:59 PM
B
Member
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
repairing switch

That was some good info.I have a switch box with the seam at the bottom of the box.It had 2 openings that look-like they were pry points but to no avail.I put the box in a vise with a heatgun and was able to loosen the glue.Inside I found the spade lug connector had broken in half and the other one was on its way out also,so I replaced both with heavier duty connectors.When testing the switch I used a DVM and ohmed across the 2 blades(hot and neutral),when I pushed the start button the ohms dropped to 0.Hope this saves other people money
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: