yard machine tractor hydrostatic trans

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-17-05, 08:05 AM
mrnewt
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
yard machine tractor hydrostatic trans

model # 13au694h088 tmo-3207901
lawn tractor 20hp b/s intek ohv, 46" cut, hydrostatic tranny

It seems that my tranny doesnt have quite the power it used to.
I have changed the drive belt.
Im wondering about the tranny oil level. I can see a hose coming off the
top of the tranny that runs up just under the seat, with a plug in it.
I can see no other means by which to check the level. Is there a way?
Also, if the oil was need of changing, where do i drain it. I see only a
plug in the bottom, that appears to be pressed in. Any insight would
be greatly appreciated. Thanks!!!

newt

ps. I did read the other thread about this subject, which makes me think
its a sealed unit, but why then is there a plugged hose coming out the top?
 

Last edited by mrnewt; 03-17-05 at 11:03 AM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-17-05, 08:54 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,815
Hello mrnewt!

Short for newton? (I had a friend with the last name "Newton" and we called him Newt for short).

The tranny is a sealed unit to my knowledge. You may be able to remove the plug and drain it if you can remove the plug without damaging it. The plug in the tube is probably not a plug, but a vent instead. It allows air that expands with heat buildup inside the unit to escape without dirt entering the tranny. If you do attempt to change the fluid, make extra precautions to keep ALL dirt and particles out of the tranny. Hydro's are sensitive and intolerable of dirt.
 
  #3  
Old 03-18-05, 04:41 AM
mrnewt
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
thanks for the info.
sounds like this must not be the issue then.
I am going to look at the belt tensioner, maybe im getting
some belt slippage, seems like the only other possibility.

oh by the way, no im not a newton, just a fan of Mr. Newt (Gingrich)

thanks again
 
  #4  
Old 03-18-05, 09:27 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: 5353'57.39" N 12244'13.58" W
Posts: 189
tranny

the hose is a breather tube and has a valve in the end to keep dirt out. I would not recommend taking it out, or topping it up. Manufacturer says no.


S/T
 
  #5  
Old 03-18-05, 09:30 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: 5353'57.39" N 12244'13.58" W
Posts: 189
forgot something

Could be the release button is sticky--that happens. You know that lever you pull so you can free-wheel it around?
That opens a valve and allows the fluid to circulate when pushing the tractor. They will sometimes stick due to dirt or bent control rod or something of that nature. WD 40 it a lot, blow off with air, and your problem may leave.

S/T
 
  #6  
Old 03-18-05, 11:08 AM
mrnewt
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
thanks for the suggestions, I will see if the release lever is working
smoothly this weekend.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes