Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Screamed and locked up...help!

04-13-05, 11:09 AM   #1  
Screamed and locked up...help!

Hello

I've got a Briggs and Stranton lawnmower, 7.75hp I think.

Anyway, this is its first time out this spring. The oil level was good, the gas was good. I primed it (pushed the little button in a couple of times), and gave the cord a pull. Sputtered and died. So, I did it again, and it fired up for less than one second. What happened next happened so fast that I never got to even let go of the pull-cord. You could tell that it was going to go, go, go. At that point, it made an awful screaming sound and seized up. I can manually rotate the blade to retreive the pull-cord, but now it is way too "tight" to start.

Any ideas? To me, it sounded like a bearing, but I'm not a mechanic. And how do I fix it?

Thanks!!!

Sponsored Links

Non-US

04-13-05, 08:10 PM   #2  
It sounds like the "sprag" in the little clutch under the starter assy has siezed. You need to remove the starter assy & the sprag. A tool is available for this, but a block of wood & hammer will work. Clean the end of the crankshaft & lubethe shaft & sprag & you'll be O.K

Forum Topic Moderator

GA

04-14-05, 12:31 AM   #3  
Hello N Dennison!

I think what hopkinsr2 is referring to is the starter ratchet. It does sound like that's the problem. I'm not so sure I've ever seen a 7.75 hp engine equipped with one though. Post your engine model and code numbers and we can help you better.

"Who is John Galt?" - Ayn Rand (Atlas Shrugged)

God bless!

04-14-05, 08:15 AM   #4