Gas or Electric Mower

Old 06-01-05, 01:41 PM
Gas or Electric Mower

Greetings all ! I am tired of working on my Craftman 6.0 HP mower. It was great 2 years ago when I purchased it. I always did the routing maintenance, filters, oil, plug even a new( used) coil. Now I find myself working more on keeping the mower running or trying to start than actuall cutting grass. I am considering an electric mower since my total cutting area is only is about 550 sq ft. The configuration of the yard would never have me more than 60ft from an outlet. Any ideas on a decent electric mower. I have never used one before but i think I am ready to now. Any advice is appreciated. Thanks!

Last edited by Bob53; 06-01-05 at 02:08 PM.
Sponsored Links
Old 06-01-05, 02:07 PM
follow up to question

It is a Sears model no. 917.388021
My frustration with this 6 hp engine lies in the fact that it starts real strong for 5 seconds and shuts right down. I replaced the coil with a used one from the small engine repair shop. Could i still not be getting spark? What is the best way to check? If it starts for 5 seconds does that mean that I am getting the spark? I removed the bowl from the carb and it was still like new. I replaced it without squashing the gasket or anything. New plug, new oil (20 oz), new air filter.fresh fuel. the fuel filter is in the tank and the bowl fills so I assume the fuel is passing the way it should. For 4 days I have been taking it apart and putting it back together with the same results.
This is why I am considering the electric mower. Or is there something I am overlooking or something else you folks could possible recommend me to do with this gas mower. thank you. (Old & frustrated )

Old 06-01-05, 08:07 PM
Admin Emeritus
Hello: Bob53

If, as you mentioned, "Any advice is appreciated" try this. Remove the fuel cap. Start and run the engine. If the engine runs fine and continues to run, the vent hole in the fuel cap is plugged. Replace the cap.