Cub Cadet/Kohler Opinions?

Old 07-28-05, 10:43 AM
T
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Cub Cadet/Kohler Opinions?

Hello:

My 16HP Craftsman is dying....I'm tied of fixing it....so I'm in the market for a new riding mower and looking to purchase the Cub Cadet 1046 w/23HP Kohler V-Twin. It retails for est $1800 and appears (at least on the surface) to be solidly constructed with good a good motor when compared to the Home Depot JD tractors and others machines in the

Old 07-28-05, 05:39 PM
Azis
Visiting Guest
I think cub is a boxed brand made by John Deere. The ones I have seen seem comparable to equally priced mowers. Kohler I think makes good engines. I have no knowledge of the twins however.
If your craftsman is over 7 or 8 yrs old, you may want to look at the new ones. Depending on your duty, they are still a good buy in my book. American Yard Pro now makes the chassis. And I am still fond of the single cylinder briggs, they offer 16.5hp and 18.5hp. And if you really want the prize on the block they sell a perty orange one that says Husqvarna on it

Not sure what Murray is making now either but have seen some under 5 years old that I have been impressed with, they have twin briggs, not sure who makes the chassis but it is solid.

You may want to consider service also. Kohler dealers in my area are few and do not stock much at all.
If Cub is JD and you need service...well don't get me started.....

Old 07-28-05, 11:10 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 142 Upvotes on 131 Posts
Hello Tom!