Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Craftsman riding mower belt


Chaz's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 54
MA

08-02-05, 09:32 AM   #1  
Craftsman riding mower belt

Trying to replace one of two mower belts for an old Craftsman riding mower with a triple deck.

It looks like I have to unbolt at least one of the pulleys to get the belt threaded through the secondary drive belt. Am I missing something or is this likely correct?

Mower is Sears model #917.254720.

Thanks ...

 
Sponsored Links
l.mitchell's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 68

08-02-05, 10:48 AM   #2  
i had one of those decks. it seems to get the bottom belt i had to loosen one of the top pulleys to get wiggle room or take a bolt out to slide under neath. i dont remember taking anything completely off just loosening. the bottom belt i only replaced once or twice in five yrs but the top belt i replaced 3or4 times was much easier. but i used the cheap belts not industrial.

 
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator

Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 16,575
GA

08-03-05, 12:20 AM   #3  
I am familiar with that deck, and don't recall ever having to remove a pulley to install either belt. Here is a link to the diagram for the belt routing for your mower: http://www3.sears.com

Type in your model # and select mower and click on view diagram.


"Who is John Galt?" - Ayn Rand (Atlas Shrugged)

God bless!

 
Chaz's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 54
MA

08-03-05, 08:42 AM   #4  
Thanks for the replies.

Guess I'll get out the socket wrenches and put the mower up on the blocks. I got the easier drive belt in last year without having to take anything apart but it seems this belt requires a bit more work.

CH

 
Search this Thread