Craftsman riding mower belt

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-02-05, 09:32 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 57
Craftsman riding mower belt

Trying to replace one of two mower belts for an old Craftsman riding mower with a triple deck.

It looks like I have to unbolt at least one of the pulleys to get the belt threaded through the secondary drive belt. Am I missing something or is this likely correct?

Mower is Sears model #917.254720.

Thanks ...
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-02-05, 10:48 AM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: ill.
Posts: 68
i had one of those decks. it seems to get the bottom belt i had to loosen one of the top pulleys to get wiggle room or take a bolt out to slide under neath. i dont remember taking anything completely off just loosening. the bottom belt i only replaced once or twice in five yrs but the top belt i replaced 3or4 times was much easier. but i used the cheap belts not industrial.
 
  #3  
Old 08-03-05, 12:20 AM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,814
I am familiar with that deck, and don't recall ever having to remove a pulley to install either belt. Here is a link to the diagram for the belt routing for your mower: http://www3.sears.com

Type in your model # and select mower and click on view diagram.
 
  #4  
Old 08-03-05, 08:42 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 57
Thanks for the replies.

Guess I'll get out the socket wrenches and put the mower up on the blocks. I got the easier drive belt in last year without having to take anything apart but it seems this belt requires a bit more work.

CH
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes