Replace Power Washer Recoil Starter

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-10-05, 10:17 AM
thesearcher
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Replace Power Washer Recoil Starter

Hi,

I own a Craftsman Model 580.741380 Power Washer with a Briggs & Stratton 4 cycle engine Model 12E802-1115-01

I've used it for about 5 years and noticed the recoil starter cord is getting worn. Instead of waiting for it to break I thought I would replace it now.

My concerns are:

Is this fairly easy to do?

Where could I get instructions about replacing the starter cord?

Do I need to replace any other parts along with the starter cord?

Approximately how much would a replacement cord cost and where is the best place to buy one.

Thanks for your help.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-10-05, 01:12 PM
James Sanders's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 101
I typed your pressure washer model number into the sears parts site http://www3.sears.com and your Briggs and Stratton engine model number should be 12E802-1115-01.

The starter cord part number is 280399. Sears sells the cord for $2.75, and you have to cut it to required length. You may be able to find a better price by going to an engine store in your area, or a sears store, and see if they have the part # in stock. It would save you shipping.

As for changing it, I have no idea. Someone else here will have to help you with that
 
  #3  
Old 08-10-05, 01:34 PM
thesearcher
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks James,

I'll try my local Sears store and maybe I can pick up a "How to Guide" along with the cord.
 
  #4  
Old 08-11-05, 12:44 AM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,815
Nothing to it, just pull the recoil mechanism off, pull the cord all the way out, hold the spool to keep it from rewinding, cut the knot and pull the old rope out, put the new rope in and tie a knot, then let go of the spool and let it rewind the new cord up. Don't let it rewind all of it up inside the housing! (tie a knot in the other end to keep it from goin in until you get the handle on it).
 
  #5  
Old 08-11-05, 10:21 AM
thesearcher
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks Cheese,

It sounds like I should be able to do this. At some point I have to cut the new cord to make sure it is the correct length. How do I do that?
 
  #6  
Old 08-12-05, 01:18 AM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,815
Once the recoil assembly has rewound all the cord it wants and won't wind up any more, pull it out a few inches, tie the handle on and cut the excess.
 
  #7  
Old 08-13-05, 05:06 PM
thesearcher
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks for everyone's help!
 
  #8  
Old 08-14-05, 12:42 AM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,815
Anytime!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes