Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

1997 MTD Stuck in Gear

Visiting Guest

08-26-05, 05:10 PM   #1  
msaffer
1997 MTD Stuck in Gear

Hello again,

I'm still learning the protocol of this forum so I wasn't sure if I should have responded back to my original question or make a new thread.

I want to thank dave237 for the prompt response to my last question about starting problems with my Ace Special Edition, 42" cut tractor, model 13AG675G033, serial 1J256C20132. Thanks a lot Dave.

Since this question was transmission related, I thought a new thread was the right thing to do. Please forgive me people! I'm new! Awesome forum BTW.

OK, It's stuck in gear. It's still not starting, but I think I have enough information to make that happen.

I am fairly certain that the previous owner tried to drive this tractor over his outside wooden deck as a shortcut to it's parking spot and got hung up on the deck. The deck is perhaps 4-6 inches high from the ground.

The blade height control on the forward right is pulled all the way back, disengaged. The clutch/brake pedal on the forward left is to the floor. The speed control lever, right aft is all the way back to zero, or neutral I suppose. The transmission control on the floor just in front of the seat, between the legs, is in neutral, I think. I can't get a positive response out of the control. It moves through the positions, but I don't think it's really doing anything at this point. It's stuck I think.

Could you pro's please help me out and tell me how I can free up the tranny? Should I look for a certain pivot point or lever on the transmission to give a good 'ole whack with a hammer and unleash the beast? If I can just free it up, I can probably see why it got stuck and fabricate a solution.. just not sure what to look for.

All the best to the people here. You do good work.

Michael Saffer