Bentonite transaxle grease?

Old 09-10-05, 02:45 PM
DNT1
Visiting Guest
Bentonite transaxle grease?

newbie here please help, all mower places closed and no help from auto and home stores. WHAT IS THIS Bentonite grease part number 7880678 that is called out for Tecumseh Peerless 920-005 transaxle?? I have a older Murray that had a extremely noisy trans I pulled it out cleaned it up and removed the plastic plug in the top it appears to only have about 1/2 inch of fluid in the very bottom obviously low but what do i need to put back will plain ole Lithium based grease work?

Sponsored Links
Old 09-10-05, 06:14 PM
DNT1,

Bentonite is a highly absorbent clay-like substance that is an additive in peerless transaxle grease. It is added in an effort to keep the lubrication where it is needed. It is also a lubricant itself. Other greases will not have the added staying power that Betonite adds and will be forced out of very long and tight bearing races.

The only source that I know of is Tecumseh. However, Cheese or Puey61 may know of other sources.

God Bless,
Dave237

Old 09-10-05, 06:30 PM
DNT1
Visiting Guest