Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

(Snapped Connecting Rod) Twin Cylinder (Merged Thread)

09-21-05, 07:29 PM   #1  
(Snapped Connecting Rod) Twin Cylinder Engine

Hello,

I have inherited this tractor from my brother, however he was willing to depart with it because it won't start. The history goes like this:

It's approx. 4 years old with a B&S 19.5 HP Twin Cylinder engine, probably the oil was never changed (just added) and was cutting 4 acres. The last time he mowed the lawn he said he heard a clanking sound in the engine and it just sputted out. He was never able to get it started again. That's were I take over.

I have limited knowledge of engines, however I have start the diagnosis from recommendation from this site and the B&S.

First, the battery is about dead and so it requries a charge to get it the fly wheel turning however the engine obviously does not catch.

Second, I seem to be getting a good spark.

Third, When I try to start the engine and then look at the spark plug they are not wet nor have the gas smell. I opened the carburator and sprayed starter fluid and still the engine did not turn over. Additionally I sprayed some in the spark plug it still it did not turn over.

Fourth, Checking the oil revealed old oil and lots of it. The oil level was above full (no gas smell however). The oil was leaking out of the top of the oil case. I have drained all of the oil.

With some excitement and little reservation I jumped in and removed one cylinder head. (Prior to performing a compression check, probably a bad move). Things looked OK to me with the cyclinder and valves. No obvious damage, just carboned up. I manually turned the fly wheel and things seemed to function properly.

I believe my next step is to take the engine off the tractor and open up the crankcase, to see if the gears are busted.