Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

?Clutch? help for riding mower

Visiting Guest

09-22-05, 08:59 AM   #1  
cammianne
?Clutch? help for riding mower

Okay, I'm not a mechanic, and my husband is even less mechanically inclined than I am, so I'm guessing here. I asked my 18 year old son to pull our riding lawnmower out of the garage for me. I'm thinking, even though he's saying he didn't, that he messed it up pulling it out. When I went to get on it, it was in gear (he should have had it in neutral), and the deck was down. Anyway, I raised to deck and just pushed it to the front yard (he thought I wanted to mow the back), started it up, and when I put it into gear, it wouldn't go anywhere. Tried all 5 gears, nada, zip, zilch. Anyway, opened the hood up and after investigating a bit, I noticed that when I have my foot on the clutch and it's in neutral the thingamabobby (I'm assuming on the clutch) positions in the lowest position. As I move through first, second, and so on, I notice each position is higher. However, as soon as I release the clutch to engage, it drops right back down to the lowest (neutral) position. I'm again assuming that it's not supposed to do this, LOL. There's a thingy (I know, again, me and my "technical" terms) that's a thin piece of metal, maybe three inches long or so, that looks like it should be hooked up to "something," but it's not. One end is through this hole on the gear shift, the other end is dangling loose, but I cannot find anything close enough that I think this should go through. I've been searching online but I just can't find any decent diagrams, pictures, or anything else that might help me. Anyone have any clues? By the way, here's the info on the riding mower:

12.5 HP/38"
Shift-on-the-Go
YardMachines by MTD
Briggs and Stratton