Craftsman 536.885900 carb full, no fuel

Old 12-06-05, 03:30 PM
Craftsman 536.885900 carb full, no fuel

Hi all, I have a Craftsman 536.885900, I drove it into the shed last spring, but had to pull it out. I have a good spark, but no fuel. I drained and refilled the tank, just because it sat. The plug is brand new and completely dry. I have good compression. Removed the carb and it loods pretty clean, cleaned out the needle (jet). After cranking over the carb fills up but no gas still. Also should note that the float does move freely. I gotta admit, i was a ford tech for 12 years before i got too old and im feelin kinda dumb.
From looking at the carb and intake, is it correct to assume the fuel is pulled into the engine from the suction generated by the engine turning over? Any help appreciated. Thanks in advance

Sponsored Links
Old 12-06-05, 04:01 PM
fuel should be a gravity feed. have you tried a little gas down the carb, or down the spark plug hole, or starting fluid? anyway, if it was set without fuel stabilizer, its still probablly gummed good, i would do a good carb tear down and soaking then spray it out with cleaner, compressed air too if you have it. be careful around the inlet needle seat, may blow it out.

Old 12-06-05, 04:15 PM
Thanks for the quick reply. I guess i need to pull the carb again. I did it once and it looked good, and i did clean it out but maybe the float is stuck or something. The needle/seat looked pretty straight forward, hope i didnt loose any small parts. I spose its back out to the garage before it snows.

Old 12-07-05, 03:40 PM
Carb # 632334, any inherant problems?